Episode 53: Catching up on life, books, and reading goals

We’re back! Today we’re catching up, sharing recent reads, and setting some reading goals. We’ve got book reviews, anticipated summer reads, and general updates to share. Be sure to stay tuned for our recommendations of the week. Show Notes Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel The Monuments Men by Robert M. Edsel The Vanishing…

Read More

Episode 50: The Duchess Deal Discussion, plus romance recommendations for fans of Tessa Dare and Jane Austen

“How many dukes are just rolling around?” Today we’re talking about The Duchess Deal by Tessa Dare, one of Chelsey’s favorite historical romance novels. Curtis gives a brief synopsis, and then we talk about romance tropes, historical time periods, and Tessa Dare’s sassy wit. This was Curtis’ first romance novel, and *spoiler alert* he loved…

Read More

Episode 49: Comfort reads and the books we turn to during stressful times

Today we’re chatting about the role of reading during stressful times. For us, books are comforting, but they also require a certain level of focus. Listen in to hear tips for reading while stressed, getting out of a reading slump, and plenty of book recommendations.  Email us here Follow us here Sign up for Libro.fm here Shop this…

Read More

Episode 46: Ghost Talkers Discussion, plus WWI book recommendations

Today we’re discussing Ghost Talkers by Mary Robinette Kowal, a WWI spy story with fantasy elements. Before we launch into our book discussion, Curtis is sharing pertinent historical background while Chelsey shares some literary history lessons. Check the show notes for spoiler timestamps and a list of book and article recommendations. Email us here Follow…

Read More

Episode 45: Book Recommendations for Baby Yoda Fans

Today we’re talking about the books we’ve read recently, including two intense memoirs we loved. Plus we have book recommendations for fans of the television show taking pop culture by storm: The Mandalorian. We are HERE for Baby Yoda. As always, we’d love to hear from you! Email us here Follow us here Sign up…

Read More