Episode 59: Our favorite award-winning books and exciting 2020 literary award nominations

Curtis has often mentioned his love of award-winning books, so today we’re taking a deep dive into our reading logs and TBR lists to recommend award-nominated or award-winning books. In today’s episode, we’re discussing various literary awards, sharing some of our favorite award-winning books, and taking a look at some of this year’s big nominations. …

Read More

Episode 57: Discussing The City We Became by N.K. Jemisin, plus fantasy book recommendations and reflections on buddy reading

Today we’re discussing The City We Became by N.K. Jemisin. Listeners, we’ll warn you before talking about any major spoilers—but we do highly recommend reading this page-turning sci-fi/fantasy novel! If this is your first time listening to one of our buddy read episodes, welcome to the nerdiest part of our podcast. Buddy reading is something…

Read More

Episode 56: A few favorite memoirs, a disagreement, and book reviews

In today’s episode, Curtis and Chelsey are sharing recommendations in their mutual favorite genre: memoir. Despite the fact that we both love this genre, our tastes vary wildly. We like to think that’s why you stick around here, listeners. So expect a wide range of memoirs today as we share three favorites and three to-be-read…

Read More

Episode 54: Revolutionary Reads for Hamilton fans and reflective readers

Today we’re checking in with a reading goal update, sharing short book reviews, and offering several recommendations for Revolutionary Reads. Plus, Chelsey catches a golden phrase on audio and Curtis reminisces about Star Wars.  Our newsletter: https://hereadsheread.substack.com/ 2 Audiobooks for the price of 1! Support independent bookstores and sign up for Libro.fm here Email us…

Read More

Episode 53: Catching up on life, books, and reading goals

We’re back! Today we’re catching up, sharing recent reads, and setting some reading goals. We’ve got book reviews, anticipated summer reads, and general updates to share. Be sure to stay tuned for our recommendations of the week. Show Notes Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel The Monuments Men by Robert M. Edsel The Vanishing…

Read More

Episode 50: The Duchess Deal Discussion, plus romance recommendations for fans of Tessa Dare and Jane Austen

“How many dukes are just rolling around?” Today we’re talking about The Duchess Deal by Tessa Dare, one of Chelsey’s favorite historical romance novels. Curtis gives a brief synopsis, and then we talk about romance tropes, historical time periods, and Tessa Dare’s sassy wit. This was Curtis’ first romance novel, and *spoiler alert* he loved…

Read More